Books Over Here. Books Over There. Books Books Everywhere.

As I look around my messy apartment, I find myself asking one question: how did all these books get here? My computer tower storage (that I don’t use because I have a laptop) is filled with books. There are books in my DVD rack. There are books in my bags. There are books on my supply shelf. They are everywhere. How is it possible that I wound up with so many books? I’m not much of a reader.

Many of the books have come from my classes. My Medieval Literature class alone has like ten books. They’re all really great so it’s nice. I’ve also expanded my reference book library as well. I’ve acquired several screenwriting books, some dictionaries (including a book on “Creative Cursing”) and a few for pleasure books (like Diablo Cody’s book Candy Girl). I’ve also subscribed to three more magazines (making it four total). Magazines help me come up with ideas and keep me informed of the world around me.

I haven’t had the chance to read many of these books. I have books I’m reading for my classes. In my fiction writing class, we’ve been reading lots of short stories which has opened me to the world of reading again, but what really excites me is the expansion of my world. Having a growing reference library is just adding to the feeling that I really am a writer.

The biggest challenge has been finding a place for all of these lovely books. I have two bookshelves that are as full as can be. I’m thinking I may need to box away some of the old ones which I don’t want to do because then I won’t have access to them. Living in a small space makes it tricky to find space for everything. This just means the next place is going to either have bookshelf lined walls in the living room or a separate library room.

Now I just have to find time to read.

About clinegirl22

You can take a girl out of the county, but you can't take the country out of the girl! I am a city girl with a country past trying to find who she is. With my adorable cat, Elliott, I am working towards a degree in English, working jobs that insipre me, and trying to make sense of the world around me. After being dealt some devastating blows in the last year, I am moving on and discovering that standing up for what I believe in is hard, but rewarding in the end. This blog serves as a home for my most provacative work. View all posts by clinegirl22

Leave a comment